Blog Azeroth Shared Topic: Eavesdropping WoW Conversations IRL

This is an old topic (Okay, not that old), but I do have something to say about it.

Oath of Blog Azeroth asked:

Have you ever been out and about, minding your own business, having a casual conversation with a friend and fellow WoW player about the latest patch or last night’s dungeon, then some random stranger comes up to you and says something like, “Hey, I’m sorry, I couldn’t help but overhear, but do you guys play WoW? I’ve got a level XX [race] [class] on [server]”?

I’ve probably had two handfuls of people come up to me in real life, either overhearing I play WoW from conversation, or seeing that I’m wearing my Warlock shirt or Horde sweater, and strike up a conversation with me about the game.

While places of congregation abound, such as a gaming convention, comic book shop, or GameStop, the topic persists more of an unprecedented setting. I ran into an Alliance member at a mall outside of the restrooms and we had a heated debate about Varian Wrynn. A guy started a conversation with my cousin and me at a sushi bar because my cousin and I were discussing ICC. A friend and I were at dinner at an expensive restaurant, and I was telling her about my spec, as she was leveling a warlock, and our waiter chimed in about his warlock.

Have any of you out there in the blogosphere had this happen? If so, what was your experience like? Was it just a pleasant conversation or did you face off with a passionate member of the opposing faction?

I’ve had experiances of both actually.

Pleasant conversation:

I was dropping by one of those small little corner stores, just to buy a sandwich. I heard two men talking about a recent patch, and how their guilds were going to take down Arthas. I smiled and introduced myself, telling them about how I used to play, and how Icecrown sounded very exciting. I must have spent 30 minutes in that shop, because they wanted to tell me everything that was going on in WoW. It was a nice conversation, and I was glad to meet more people who played.

Not so nice conversation:

My best friend and I were just shopping. In a totally non-WoW conversation, I mentioned Murlocs. A passerby seemed to overhear, and came over to talk. I thought it must have been another friendly WoW player. I was wrong.

This one seemed to think that he should try to force his opinions on us. Without even introducing himself, he told us, “Girls don’t play WoW.”

I rolled my eyes, and started to walk away, when my friend rose to the bait. You see, she had played WoW once or twice, and yet still considered herself quite well informed.

After a long argument, he dismissed us, “Whatever. Even if you did play WoW, you’d probably be a lv. 5 on a low pop. RP server.”

I laughed. “I play on Alleria.” It turns out, so did he.

I actually saw him in Stranglethorn later that week. Turns out, he was a low lv. Hordie. He started to /chicken around me, thinking I was too softhearted to kill or gank him.

Hey, Nenunial’s a Death Knight! I couldn’t stop it. My runeblade was demanding it!

Plus, he was a jerk.

So he died.

Before you comment on this, think for a moment. You know that feeling sometimes, when you are so irritated with someone IRL, that you want to gank them in-game? Luckily for me, that boy did play the game. Has this happened to you before?

XOXO,

Nenunial

[]

Nenunial- Draenei Death Knight

Reinata- Night Elf Huntress

This entry was posted in Blog Azeroth Shared Topic Response. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog Azeroth Shared Topic: Eavesdropping WoW Conversations IRL

  1. Crokar says:

    thats great. i for one dont like to talk in public about anything related to gaming unless im in a gamestore. and even then i wouldnt talk to people about WoW because alot of people seem to think they know everything and i cant stand that.

Leave a Reply

