Blog Azeroth Shared Topic: Helping New Players

This week, Nexdominus of Blog Azeroth asked:

Do you help new players, if so in what way?

If you’ve read my About Me page, you’ll know that my first character’s existence and levels are largely due to my awesome guildies. They taught me how to play, and I am forever grateful for it!

I’m really thankful to my guildies for all their help and support, and I want to pass on that gift. Not a lot of people get help when they were still low level, leaving them to figure out everything about the game by themselves. Help out some of your guildies. They’re guild mates, that’s what you do! Give a new player some gold to help them start out, or run ‘em through an instance. Every little bit counts. At least, it did for me!

Now, outside of the guild, I’m much more reserved. Sure, I give newbies directions and help them out with a mob they’re killing. But, the ones that ask for money?

/cackle

I’ll admit, I’ve been a bit over-nice a couple of times. I once ran a random Gnome (Warrior, I think it was?) through Stocks and Deadmines before I had to log. He was actually very nice about it, and this was his first character. After all the people who had asked me, he was the most courteous. I just couldn’t resist!

Have you ever had the experiance that, you’re online, but just can’t seem to think of something to do? You don’t want to join a PUG, or earn achievements and level on an alt. Go help someone out! What goes around, comes around, right?

Do you remember leveling your first character? WoW is an extremely complex game, and to a new player, it’s basically a labyrinth. Go and help someone out, teach them a few tricks! If you’re really feeling helpful, generous, and just downright nice, take a few steps out of the capital city you’re in, and see if anyone calls for help in chat. Go and help the confused new player, maybe even give them that extra 3 gold in your pocket.

I remember the first time I earned 1 gold. I thought I was rich! Now, 3 gold, to a new player, they will feel on top of the world. 3 gold to an experienced player? That’s the equivalent of selling about one or two items of vendor trash. Plus, who knows? Maybe you might be raiding alongside your newfound friend one day!

Along your journey during your WoW lifetime, someone must have helped you out. Pass that gift along, and hopefully that new player will help someone as well!

XOXO,

Nenunial

[]

Nenunial- Draenei Death Knight

Reinata- Night Elf Huntress

Image from: http://www.blogcdn.com/www.wow.com/media/2010/02/strafinglsp.jpg

This entry was posted in Blog Azeroth Shared Topic Response. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blog Azeroth Shared Topic: Helping New Players

  1. Crokar says:

    i help them out because i know how hard it was leveling and being new to the game and have no one to help me. me and my brother played together but he stopped playing and i pretty much solo’d from 30 something all the way to 80.

  2. Crokar says:

    i did have occasional help from a couple people from my first guild before i was in their guild.

  3. Pingback: 5 great ways for you to help new players « Welcome to Spinksville!

  4. Pingback: Shared Topic: Helping New Players « Twisted Nether Blogcast

Leave a Reply

